Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust

+4
cdrt
james r chapman
JIMPGOV
dronning
8 posters

Go down

14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust Empty 14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust

Post by dronning Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:52 pm

I've been shooting this for 2 years and it's the 1st time I've checked the trigger weight.
I adjusted the mainspring from light to tight and no matter where it is adjusted in single action the hammer drops at 2 1/4 lb (NRA weights not electric).  I dropped in another mainspring I had and got the same results and I even did the primer trick to increase spring pressure and still got 2 1/4 lbs.

I'm about to open it up what are the stock weights for the rebound spring, how many coils? 

I am ordering both stock & reduced power spring kits which will also give me 11lb-15lb rebound springs.  I'm hoping this will fix it and no one messed with the hammer/sear angles.
- Dave
dronning
dronning

Back to top Go down

14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust Empty Re: 14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust

Post by JIMPGOV Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:50 pm

THE FACTORY REBOUND SLIDE SPRING IS 18LBS. NUMBER OF COILS ARE UNKNOWN.
ALSO CHECK THE MAINSPRING SCREW. CHECK IT TO SEE IF IT'S BEEN SHORTENED.
JP

JIMPGOV

Back to top Go down

14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust Empty Re: 14-5 trigger too light - won't adjust

Post by james r chapman Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:33 pm

What weight are you trying to attain? isn't 2 1/4-2 1/2 pretty standard for a well done single action on a smith? 

Take JIMPGOV's advice. replace the rebound spring. I don't believe the mainspring contributes significantly to the S.A trigger pull...
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by cdrt Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:28 pm

james r chapman wrote:What weight are you trying to attain? isn't 2 1/4-2 1/2 pretty standard for a well done single action on a smith?