Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction

4 posters

Go down

XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction Empty XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction

Post by 230Ball 5/5/2019, 1:09 pm

When re-installing the locator pin at station 3 during reloading ops today it would only insert about 1/16".  There appears to be a slight crescent-shape obstruction, as if a nut plate or similar piece within the platform had shifted out of alignment with the locator pin hole.  What's really strange is that the platform is a single casting with no such piece.  What could this be?  Am I missing something?

I'm relatively new to progressive reloaders, but have successfully reloaded several hundred 9mm cartridges.  However, today I was experiencing a sharp pop when pulling down the operating handle.  I can't imagine this (or anything for that matter) be related to an obstruction magically appearing in a platform locator pin hole.
Attachments
XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction Attachment
Obstruction.JPG You don't have permission to download attachments.(106 Kb) Downloaded 5 times
230Ball
230Ball

Back to top Go down

XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction Empty Re: XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction

Post by CR10X 5/5/2019, 7:19 pm

The "sharp pop" was probably a slightly miss aligned primer or primer anvil that got loose. Or even a piece of .22 brass inside the 9mm case.  Something may have migrated to the locator pin hole.  See if you can lift out the obstruction with a small pick.

CR

CR10X

Back to top Go down

XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction Empty Re: XL 650 Platform Locator Pin Obstruction

Post by robert84010 5/5/2019, 7:27 pm

Not sure what does you are using but my 9mm dies are Dillon and every time they push a primer out there is a pop from the primer pin remover. It is under tension, moves then resets.

robert84010

Back to top Go down