Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc.

+2
BE Mike
hengehold
6 posters

Go down

School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc. Empty School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc.

Post by hengehold 3/7/2020, 11:35 am

I am new to Bullseye shooting (9mm 1911 & SW41) and will begin loading for pistol for the first time. There seems to be a lot of options for bullets. Round nose, flat nose, jacketed hollow point, jacketed, hi-Tek coated, copper plated, various diameters for same caliber, and the list goes on.

Is there a general consensus on what is the best choice strictly for BE competition?

Thanks,

-TH

hengehold

Back to top Go down

School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc. Empty Re: School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc.

Post by BE Mike 3/7/2020, 12:06 pm

I think that jacketed bullets are easier to get good accuracy for 50 yard shooting and jacketed hollow point probably top the full metal jacketed versions for most folks. I've been testing loads with various coated 9mm bullets, but only at 25 yards and decent 50 yard accuracy might be unobtainable. I never cared for the accuracy of copper plated bullets, but my experience with them is dated. I think it might be easier to work up a 50 yard accurate load with the JHP. You must test your loads at that distance to find out how they will shoot. Once you find an accurate load that will hold the 10 ring at 50 yards, just load a bunch and start training. At the beginning, the training will get you more points than spending a lot of time, energy and money on trying to get that 1.5" group.
BE Mike
BE Mike

Back to top Go down

School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc. Empty Re: School Me On Bullets: shape/jacketed/coated/etc.

Post by Wobbley 3/7/2020, 12:30 pm