Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Remove front sight when using optics?

+2
james r chapman
corsara
6 posters

Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by corsara Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:27 pm

Hello - I'm a bullseye newbie from Canada Smile    Just staring with the sport, got a beginner's S&W Victory and will be installing a bunch of upgrades to it, one of which is a red dot (Sig Romeo5).  My question is if it is a standard practice to remove the front sight since it won't be used, or leave it on?   Is it a matter of personal choice, or there is something else I might be forgetting (e.g. barrel vibration, etc.).   Pls educate me, thanks in advance!

corsara

Back to top Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Re: Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by james r chapman Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:30 pm

Always need a can opener.
Leave it on if it doesn’t interfere with the dot.
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

corsara likes this post

Back to top Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Re: Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by John Dervis Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:54 pm

I would say most will leave it on for no other reason than it is work to remove it.  I like to leave stuff like that in place in case I want to return the gun to original and I don't want to hunt around for where I put the parts.  I'm with Jim so if it's not distracting to you when looking through the dot, go ahead and leave it in place. 

John.

PS - Welcome to the forum.

John Dervis

corsara likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by -TT- Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:30 pm