Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hand in Pocket or belt?

+16
SingleActionAndrew
spursnguns
rich.tullo
Outthere
mhayford45
farmboy
john bickar
zanemoseley
kjanracing
Tim:H11
BE Mike
brassmaster
mpolans
Jack H
Wobbley
Dockokol
20 posters

Go down

Hand in Pocket or belt? Empty Hand in Pocket or belt?

Post by Dockokol 1/28/2021, 9:11 am

When I started shooting I was taught to put my non shooting hand in my pocket.  Now I see many on the line (including AMU shooters) hooking their thumb in behind their belt buckel.  What happened?
Doc

Dockokol

Back to top Go down

Hand in Pocket or belt? Empty Re: Hand in Pocket or belt?

Post by Wobbley 1/28/2021, 9:24 am

It allows you to react quicker to a malfunction IF you want to.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Jack H 1/28/2021, 11:28 am

When Makin's hot 22 brass keeps pelting you at your pocket with hand inside, and a case sticks between your bare wrist and pants fabric affraid , you start holding your hand behind your back.  

Actually I think letting your non shooting arm hang looser is better.  LtC Miller used to constantly remind me to relax my left shoulder.
Jack H
Jack H

Back to top Go down

Post by mpolans 1/28/2021, 11:53 am

I don't like my non-dominant hand to move. My pockets are deep enough that my hand can still move in them, so I hold my belt.

mpolans

Back to top Go down

Post by brassmaster 1/28/2021, 12:08 pm

Jack H wrote:When Makin's hot 22 brass keeps pelting you at your pocket with hand inside, and a case sticks between your bare wrist and pants fabric affraid , you start holding your hand behind your back.  

Actually I think letting your non shooting arm hang looser is better.  LtC Miller used to constantly remind me to relax my left shoulder.