Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

NEVER MIND... USMC Pistol Team Manual - question

+2
robert84010
RodJ
6 posters

Go down

NEVER MIND... USMC Pistol Team Manual - question Empty NEVER MIND... USMC Pistol Team Manual - question

Post by RodJ 7/15/2021, 2:31 pm

Never mind. I tried a search for “Blank” in the topic title and Shazam!

Hello, first time post here, but have enjoyed reading and learning what I can for a number of weeks.  I am new to precision shooting, made the move because I realized my average range shooting was a waste of ammunition. And boring.  I’m 58 yo and have been wasting ammunition for the majority of those years, but this challenge is really enjoyable.  Thanks to all who provide information, offer advice, and graciously provide criticism/ critiques. 

My first question concerns the very first task in the USMC manual.  To pass, you must fire 2 consecutive 10-shot strings, with a .22 pistol, at a blank target at 25 yards, and the groups must be both round and within a 5.25” circle.  So far, with my uncoached self, I’m struggling to understand how to get there. I’m working on stance, position relative to the target, grip, consistency as far as I can maintain it, tried to develop and written down a shot process (target pistol guy and others refer to a “proven” shot process - that seems to be a daunting search for the uninitiated. So many variables).

So am I unusual in that I can barely shoot 10 shots, round group or otherwise, at a 15 yard target with a black bull to at least give me an area to aim at while aligning and maintaining my eye to my sights?  I don’t know how to begin finding a mentor or coach, though I plan to ask the 2700 shooters at my club range when they return from Camp Perry... hopefully with a trophy.