Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful?

+4
Merick
CR10X
SingleActionAndrew
troystaten
8 posters

Go down

Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful? Empty Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful?

Post by troystaten 9/30/2022, 8:21 am

I am a casual bullseye shooter, I am only able to get to the range about 3 times a month.  One of the many things I am trying to figure out is why is it that sometimes I can raise the pistol from the bench and the sights (irons) line up perfectly and the sight picture is perfect and I will shoot several X's in a row then the next shot I seem to be fighting everything including sight picture and wobble and am lucky to shoot an 8.  I have been shooting for many years now and am 61 years old. Is it just age or just a lack of mindfulness?

troystaten

Back to top Go down

Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful? Empty Re: Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful?

Post by SingleActionAndrew 9/30/2022, 9:26 am

Bruce Martindale of this forum recently released a book titled Feeling Center
SingleActionAndrew
SingleActionAndrew

bruce martindale likes this post

Back to top Go down

Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful? Empty Re: Why are some shots easy 10's and some are just awful?

Post by CR10X 9/30/2022, 1:50 pm

First thing to consider is that you have all the answers right there with you each time you shoot a 10 / X.

Age is not usually a factor but physical conditions or issues can be obstacles to overcome. Mindfulness is an outcome of learning how to really observe and see everything as it happens. 

Every time you shoot an X during training, what do you do next?  Do you just fire off another shot, hoping it will be an X as well?