Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Gearing up first time at Camp Perry

5 posters

Go down

Gearing up first time at Camp Perry Empty Gearing up first time at Camp Perry

Post by DGW 12/18/2022, 8:46 pm

This year I went to Camp Perry for the first time.  I shot rifle in the Unlimited Military class. Now Im hooked.  Ive been shooting Bulleye indoor for a few years. Now I want to get started in outdoor matches. My Uncle Bill lived and breathed bulleye. For him a Gold Cup was the holly grail so I picked up a Gold cup Trophy the other day. My first question is ammo SWC and jacketed, second is what class to fire in and do I need a rimfire, will my Walther GSP 22 be legal ?

DGW

Back to top Go down

Gearing up first time at Camp Perry Empty Re: Gearing up first time at Camp Perry

Post by SteveT 12/18/2022, 10:43 pm

Yes, you will want a 22 pistol, otherwise you have to sit out 1/3 of the match. The GSP should be fine.

SWC or Jacketed is your own preference. Most of the top dogs shoot jacketed hollow point because its maybe a little bit more accurate. In reality for most of us the difference is negligible. Get a good load for your gun and shoot it. 

The one exception is service pistol matches have to be fired with jacketed ammo.
SteveT
SteveT

https://sites.google.com/site/sdturner/shooting

Back to top Go down

Gearing up first time at Camp Perry Empty Re: Gearing up first time at Camp Perry

Post by CR10X 12/19/2022, 6:52 am

Camp Perry will be a CMP match.  Get the appropriate rule book and get started reading first.  

https://thecmp.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/2022PistolRules.pdf

You will have the option of shooting several types of pistol matches (EIC, Presidents and Match Pistol with Service Pistol Match Pistol and/ or .22, etc.).