Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Inconsistent COAL

+4
SingleActionAndrew
chiz1180
Dcforman
mutley
8 posters

Go down

Inconsistent COAL Empty Inconsistent COAL

Post by mutley Sun Feb 05, 2023 9:05 pm

I'm getting a fair amount of variance in my COAL when loading 45 ACP, Zero 185gr SWC, using my Hornady LnL with Redding dies.  Sampling some of my loaded ammo it tends to vary in a range 1.210 - 1.230.  In turn, I'm also getting a good amount of failures to eject (like 1 or more out of every 25) and I think its related to the inconsistent COAL.  Of course, I'm pretty new to pistol reloading so not sure if that really is a big variance.    

Any thoughts on what may be causing the inconsistency?  Bullets vary in length but no where to that degree.  I'm not making changes on the dies from cartridge to cartridge.  I can't seat much deeper without dropping the shoulder below the case rim and I've got the crimp die turned down about as far as it can go. 

Not sure what else to try so turning to the wisdom here Smile

mutley

Back to top Go down

Inconsistent COAL Empty Re: Inconsistent COAL

Post by Dcforman Sun Feb 05, 2023 9:08 pm

What seating insert are you using? Seat and crimp in separate stages?

Dave

Dcforman

Back to top Go down

Post by chiz1180 Sun Feb 05, 2023 9:10 pm

Are you seating from the nose of the bullet or the shoulder?

Powder charge and gun configuration are also factors for ejection failure.
chiz1180
chiz1180

Back to top Go down

Post by mutley Sun Feb 05, 2023 9:12 pm

Dcforman wrote:What seating insert are you using? Seat and crimp in separate stages?

Dave

Good question.  Separate stages.  Redding offers a seating die, that has no crimp at all (versus just backing out the combo die a bit for the same effect).  I have that plus their dedicated crimping die.

mutley

Back to top Go down

Post by Dcforman Sun Feb 05, 2023 9:15 pm