Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Indoor range lead levels -concerns/opinions

+23
Foundryratjim
DonBrummer
mikemyers
wbnash3
Pioneer41
Dan Webb
RodJ
rkittine
FimRire RongLifle
Axehandle
SmokinNJokin
popchevy
jwax
JHHolliday
Steve in MI
BE Mike
BHeintz
ermakevin
SteveT
chiz1180
Wobbley
Pinetree
CentralPA22
27 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Indoor range lead levels -concerns/opinions Empty Indoor range lead levels -concerns/opinions

Post by CentralPA22 2/22/2023, 12:22 pm

Hi all, I have been shooting at a local indoor gun range for the last 2 months approximately 2-3 times a week on average. The gun range has 6 shooting lanes with a ventilation system. You can't feel air on your face, although something is in place behind the backstop and also small floor units in front of each Stahl with filters. When all the lanes are full there is A LOT of smoke in the place and often times you can taste it after you leave. I noticed several of the workers wearing canister masks when shooting and going into the range. I questioned why and was told their lead levels were very high from sweeping the range in the evening which made perfect sense. A few weeks later I started feeling uncharacteristically tired and more diarrhea than I'd like to talk about. Another friend that shoots the indoor league was also complaining that he was having similar symptoms and had his blood levels checked and came back high (40's). So, I had a blood level test ordered and it also came back high (mid 30+s -normal being under 20). My Question: have others that shoot indoor leagues/tournaments been faced with the same scenario? Has anyone had their levels checked and if so does wearing a proper dust/lead cartridge style mask prevent the exposure completely? I understand washing your hands with a lead free soap is imperative after handling ammo and this was done each time I shot. My concern is with my health b