Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Air Pistol Velocities

+2
D.H. Grace
mutley
6 posters

Go down

Air Pistol Velocities Empty Air Pistol Velocities

Post by mutley 5/23/2023, 7:45 pm

I recently purchased a Steyr LP10.  The gun is immaculate and not so much as a scratch on it.  I bought the airpistol microphone for my Labradar and was surprised to see just how much variation there is from shot to shot.  SD is ~35 FPS and ES is ~120 FPS.  That is from a 40 shot sample.   

Those numbers seem high to me.... is that normal from an olympic level gun? This is my first air pistol so I have no experience but I was under the impression that high quality air guns are very consistent from shot to shot.  Maybe I'm misinformed?

mutley

Back to top Go down

Air Pistol Velocities Empty Re: Air Pistol Velocities

Post by D.H. Grace 5/24/2023, 1:13 am

mutley wrote:I recently purchased a Steyr LP10.  The gun is immaculate and not so much as a scratch on it.  I bought the airpistol microphone for my Labradar and was surprised to see just how much variation there is from shot to shot.  SD is ~35 FPS and ES is ~120 FPS.  That is from a 40 shot sample.   

Those numbers seem high to me.... is that normal from an olympic level gun? This is my first air pistol so I have no experience but I was under the impression that high quality air guns are very consistent from shot to shot.  Maybe I'm misinformed?
Mutley,

Were you able to hear a difference between the shots?  120 fps should be enough to be clearly audible if you're listening for it.  It's certainly not normal, even for an airgun of much lesser quality.

There are two possible sources for the variation here:  the gun and chronograph.  Personally I'd be more suspicious of the radar-based chronograph than the gun.  Have you tested the Labradar setup with any other .177 airguns?