Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need help with choice of guns

+21
Nickster
Rocambole
Smokey99
Foundryratjim
Bob Fleming
MarkThomas
JpsIII
JRV
gixerman
Zipp0
TargetPistolGuy
Jack H
RoyDean
Froneck
bruce martindale
BE Mike
301bruce
chiz1180
Pinetree
DA/SA
Mike 2245
25 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Need help with choice of guns Empty Need help with choice of guns

Post by Mike 2245 1/4/2024, 3:21 pm

Hi, everyone.
I picked up competitive shooting a year ago, meaning I'm still a newbie.
My first (and current) gun is Ruger Mark IV 22/45. I put custom trigger and grips on it, it works, but I'm looking to upgrade it.
My peer is selling two guns, both in good condition, both with iron sights.
I took them to the range and I liked them both.
-- Browning Medalist, made in Belgium back in 1959. The barrel seems to be just under 6''.
-- High Standard Supermatic Citation, 7.25'' barrel.

Browning has a perfect ergonomic and balance, and I love handling it.
Hi-Standard sits well in the hand, it is extremely accurate, but it's heavier.
Magazines for Browning from what I see are more expensive and I don't know anything about parts, should I replace anything later.

I am also concerned with mounting red-dot.
Browning has a flat rib on the top of the barrel, maybe I can find a raiser or just drill this rib and screw a pic rail to it?
With Hi-Standard my only option might be to drill and tap the barrel. Not sure if this is OK to do.

I'd appreciate any help with this.
Thanks, guys.

Need help with choice of guns Browni11
Need help with choice of guns Hi-sta11

Last edited by Mike 2245 on 1/4/2024, 5:33 pm; edited 4 times in total (Reason for editing : Adding Images)

Mike 2245

Back to top Go down

Need help with choice of guns Empty Re: Need help with choice of guns

Post by DA/SA 1/4/2024, 3:44 pm