Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Evolution of the 52 project

3 posters

Go down

Evolution of the 52 project Empty Evolution of the 52 project

Post by Jerry Keefer Wed Jul 29, 2015 4:13 pm

Been busy since Perry..Great to meet and talk some of you at Perry..... Those of you that followed my lady shooter, know that the 52 didn't go to Perry...( it was a crash and burn year..Happens now and then)  I just didn't have the confidence in it..  Accuracy is superb, but it has been suffering extraction problems..
Today I put about 100 test rounds thru it here at the shop..Looks promising.. No failures, which is a very promising sign..
I studied the factory extractor, and made some major changes.. Moved the pin .200 to gain a 1.1 pivot ratio. Increased the width to move the extraction force  in line with the cartridge. The slide has been modified to accept these changes.. Made the part from A-2.. Ground square in all directions and then sawed off a chunk and ground it to the width I wanted, which approx. .005 thicker than factory.  The set screw is the big factor that enables me to adjust the cam out to the "nth" degree.. Not too much, not too little..Very pleased with the out come.. Now to test it under match conditions..Also, the small spring plunger pictured is not available anywhere... So I made up a few spares in case one should suddenly disappear.  It is the detent plunger that holds the safety bar.. It's loss disables the gun.. And since we have lost several this year, it was time to make a few.. No one that I can find has any in stock.. A big lathe can do very small jobs with the right tooling..Smile
Evolution of the 52 project IMG_2113_zpsqo7ivm8c