Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hand loading questions?

+3
Larry2520
Wobbley
GaryWWhite
7 posters

Go down

Hand loading questions? Empty Hand loading questions?

Post by GaryWWhite 7/9/2018, 6:23 pm

I am brand new to reloading and have just set up my loading bench. I am wondering how you all arrive at an overall length for your cartridges?  I have an L.E. Wilson case gauge and just kind of guest on the OAL when putting together a dummy round with a 185 LSWC button bullet.  It fit into the gauge perfectly when I set it about .003 above the case mouth.  Additionally, I found different loads with different data regarding the OAL but nothing definitive about how this is decided and how it affects accuracy.

My second observation was the taper crimp dimension.  I found that for the round to fit perfectly into the case gauge that it had to be a least .470 or it would not drop in.  I have a separate taper die for this process from Lyman.  I think I answered my question regarding the taper crimp as I read that improper tapering can result in failure to drop in the test gauge.  Also, I read that if the OAL and case plop into the gauge then it's going to fit in the firearm? True or False?

Hey guys, I'm throwing out thoughts here because I don't know exactly what I'm talking about.  Your help and input would be appreciated!

Thanks! Gary

GaryWWhite

Back to top Go down

Hand loading questions? Empty Re: Hand loading questions?

Post by Wobbley 7/9/2018, 7:05 pm

The amount of crimp is a variable in developing accurate loads.  Most seem to taper to a dimension like .468 at the case mouth but some go as low as .463.  It pays to experiment.  If you’re getting a lot of unturned powder try increasing the crimp.