Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Loading for S&W model 52

3 posters

Go down

Loading for S&W model 52 Empty Loading for S&W model 52

Post by djw1cav Tue Nov 15, 2022 1:42 pm

I have been loading 148gr HBWC for the model 52 with WST for around 4 years.  I am getting ready to load another batch and was looking at some old data when a couple things that dont make sense popped out at me. 

1.  I get lower standard deviation (velocity) with lighter crimps. (.371")

2.  Most people on this forum load with 2.6 to 2.7g WST and get around 710 fps.  I load with 2.5 and get around 710fps.  (with a .367" crimp). 

I am thinking this might have something to do with how I measure crimps.  I measure at the very end of the crimp just before the caliper falls off the crimp.  I am not sure if others measure this way.  It seems to be a good way for me to compare different crimps that I make, but perhaps it is not a good way for me to compare to crimps others make

Am I doing something wrong?

Doug

my loads are:
2.5 to 2.7gn WST
.367 to .371 crimp
Star cases and Winchester cases
Rem primers and CCI primers
Zero bullets

djw1cav

Back to top Go down

Loading for S&W model 52 Empty Re: Loading for S&W model 52

Post by bruce martindale Tue Nov 15, 2022 4:49 pm

Crimp, and even sizing die internal diameter affects velocity. Tighter crimps improves combustion efficiency; you get more pop. Factory loads added a cannelure that bites into the skirt adding more bullet pull force. Hard to do that at home.
I'm thinking a lighter faster bullet would help with the slow twist in this gun. Been a while since I played with that. It's true in the 32; the Old Hornady 90 gr hbwc was superb at 50 yards and meh for the 98

bruce martindale

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t20747-feeling-center-a-10-bullsey

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley Tue Nov 15, 2022 4:57 pm