Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New shooter moving to CA

+6
javaduke
robert84010
Doug Tiedt
cdrt
Wobbley
RAFA1911
10 posters

Go down

New shooter moving to CA Empty New shooter moving to CA

Post by RAFA1911 Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:10 am

I'm new to the sport of precision pistol/BE and have zero experience with competitive shooting. However, I am in the military and know my way around firearms. I'm being moved to Monterey, CA for about 2 years for a position that should offer me some free time to learn more about the sport.

Before fully investing, I was hoping to test the waters first with anyone here who may live in the area. A quick Google search brings up Laguna Seca Rifle and Pistol Range and Coalinga Rifle Club as the nearest range locations.

So, any prospective mentors live around Monterey, CA who might be interested in sharing their knowledge/experiences and introducing a new shooter to the sport?

Thanks in advance.

RAFA1911

Back to top Go down

New shooter moving to CA Empty Re: New shooter moving to CA

Post by Wobbley Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:44 am

A bit of advice.  Buy your pistols before you PCS.  If you have them already, you can bring non-roster guns with you.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by cdrt Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:17 pm

Wobbley wrote:A bit of advice.  Buy your pistols before you PCS.  If you have them already, you can bring non-roster guns with you.
+1 on that, since California has some pretty weird restrictions on new gun purchases.
You might check with Steve Lum about what matches they are holding in Redwood City: lum.steve@gmail.com
cdrt
cdrt

Back to top Go down

Post by Doug Tiedt Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:27 pm

Wobbley wrote:A bit of advice.  Buy your pistols before you PCS.  If you have them already, you can bring non-roster guns with you.

Don't you have to "register" each one with the CA DOJ and pay a fee to import it?  Or did they change