Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Convert a Les Baer Wadcutter to Open Iron Sights??

+5
scrum derringer
DavidR
ChuckS1
DeweyHales
Shepherd Jim
9 posters

Go down

Convert a Les Baer Wadcutter to Open Iron Sights?? Empty Convert a Les Baer Wadcutter to Open Iron Sights??

Post by Shepherd Jim 1/29/2013, 8:57 am

Hey all! I'm a newbie to both the Forum and pistol shooting so please excuse any faux pas (a/k/a "screw-ups")

I was very much running around in circles getting ready to shoot the Maine Pistol Postals -- 22LR and centerfire. I bought myself a Ruger Mark III Target and then happened upon a 3x5 card on the bulletin board at the range offering a Les Baer Bullseye Wadcutter for sale at a good price. Well, even at a GOOD price, the LB Wadcutter was WAY outside the budget, especially taking into account that I already had a Sig Sauer 1911 Target .45 ACP. But, the chance to own a really special gun could not be lost. I met a retired state policeman for lunch at a restuarant half way between his home and mine and I had me a Les Baer! Very Happy

Convert a Les Baer Wadcutter to Open Iron Sights?? Bullseye_wadcutter_50

Okay, I then received the
Pine Tree State Rifle and Pistol Association
Postals sign-up paperwork and read the fine print:

"All firing is done with one hand, bullseye style. Iron sights only. ......Sight radius must not exceed 8.6 inches."

I figured I could take off the rail and have a gunsmith cut dovetails in the slide and mount a post and adjustable rear sight per the SOP. But, luckily I checked with the good folks at Les Baer and they do NOT recommend removing the frame-mounted rail. There is a very real danger of the slide cracking due to those ten holes drilled in it.