Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Good initial choice for .22LR

+3
SingleActionAndrew
John Dervis
Walter Roper
7 posters

Go down

Good initial choice for .22LR Empty Good initial choice for .22LR

Post by Walter Roper 4/29/2023, 9:56 pm

I am new to Bullseye shooting. My first acquisition is a Hamden High Standard Victor, of which I am already fond. I am aware of the need to test ammunition in the individual firearm, and of the variability among different lots of rimfire ammunition. Having acknowledged this, does anyone have a recommendation as to a "starting point" ammunition that is generally regarded as very accurate and reliable? My primary arms are a standard velocity Marvel unit, and the Victor. My secondary firearm is a pre-war Colt Officers Model Target. Thank you for your advice.

Walter Roper

Back to top Go down

Good initial choice for .22LR Empty Re: Good initial choice for .22LR

Post by John Dervis 4/29/2023, 10:39 pm

CCI SV has historically been a good, reliable choice.  They had a short period where they were having quite a few issues 3-4 years ago but I think that may be behind them.  I tried a few hundred rounds of new (current) production and it seems as good as the case I bought in 2018.  I bought a couple cases of Aguila SV from Alan at Interarms/High Standard and it seems ok as well.  I haven’t used it enough to confirm it’s on par with CCI but it fires and functions fine.  I have the same two 22s you are using so hopefully that experience will transfer over to you.  FWIW, those two brands plus what’s left of my CMP Eley all function through my Victor with no adjustment to the magazines.  Maybe I’m lucky with that one but I’m pretty pleased.

Good luck.
John

John Dervis

Back to top Go down

Post by SingleActionAndrew 4/30/2023, 12:09 am

SK Pistol Match is good price IMO and reliable IME
SingleActionAndrew
SingleActionAndrew

Back to top Go down