Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting

+9
mikemyers
Dcforman
Froneck
L. Boscoe
NukeMMC
NuJudge
Wobbley
javaduke
jimmy_b_23
13 posters

Go down

New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting  Empty New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting

Post by jimmy_b_23 5/2/2023, 10:28 am

Good morning, y'all, 

I have been competing in college ISSF Bullseye shooting for the last four years and I am looking to to compete in 2700 and President's 100 Pistol competitions in July. For reference of my experience level I have made all american for the last 3 years on sport, rapid, and air pistol so I like to think I can generally hold my own in bullseye. 

I recently acquired an accurized 1911 and have been messing with 230 grain ammo. I have been flinching like no other! Additionally my natural point of aim is consistently to the right despite adjusting the my grip, moving my trigger finger right, and shifting my feet. Any tips would be appreciated!

jimmy_b_23

Back to top Go down

New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting  Empty Re: New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting

Post by javaduke 5/2/2023, 12:15 pm

The vast majority of bullseye shooters here uses reduced loads and 185gr or 200gr LSWC or JHP bullets.

javaduke

https://eb-custom.us

jimmy_b_23 likes this post

Back to top Go down

New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting  Empty Re: New to Service Pistol Bullseye Shooting

Post by Wobbley 5/2/2023, 2:01 pm

Yeah, all you need is “Any safe ammo”.  So I’d get some Zero 185 HP and load them with 4,5 Bullseye and go play.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Al, JRV and jimmy_b_23 like this post

Back to top Go down

Post by Dcforman 5/2/2023, 4:43 pm

I would venture that you're really trying to adjust to two major changes....

1. Moving a much louder and heavier recoil.
2. Moving from orthopedic grips to slabs, which require a much firmer grip.