Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

SME Spot Shot

+4
samtoast
SteveT
CrankyThunder
Stuman
8 posters

Go down

SME Spot Shot Empty SME Spot Shot

Post by Stuman 10/27/2023, 10:05 pm

I'm a tech guy and wanted to find a way to practice calling my shots without having to peep through a scope every time. Actually I'm pretty new to the sport and didn't even have a scope, so calling my shots would mean winding in my target after each shot. 

I bought a scope which came with a mount for your phone camera. I tried using the scope on a tripod and the phone attached to the scope with the camera app open so I could see the target on the screen. This kinda worked, but it was really fiddly to set up and the phone camera app has a bunch of stuff on the display that blocks parts on the target. I thought their must be a better way...

I found the Spot Shot Camera. It goes on the eye piece of the scope and then broadcasts video via a WiFi connection to your phone or tablet. It looks like this: 

SME Spot Shot Img_2010

I tried using their app on my Android based tablet and phone, but it kept crashing. So if you are an Android user this is not a great setup for you. But I work in software development and have all sorts of devices at my disposal, so I use the app on an iPad mini. This works great as the iPad mini is pretty small, yet the display is big enough to see the target and shots easily. 

At my range I can set my scope/camera on the floor, my iPad on the bench and it is awesome. I can glance over after each shot and see if I called it correctly without having to move at all. 

My set up at the range. 

SME Spot Shot Img_2011

and this is what I see on my screen at 25 yards looking at the B8 target. 

SME Spot Shot Img_2012
Stuman
Stuman

onlylead, RoyDean and samtoast like this post

Back to top Go down

SME Spot Shot Empty Re: SME Spot Shot

Post by CrankyThunder 10/28/2023, 6:13 am

Hi Stuman: