Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Smith & Wesson 617-6 strikes

+4
Dcforman
John Dervis
Tripscape
mostly22lately
8 posters

Go down

Smith & Wesson 617-6 strikes Empty Smith & Wesson 617-6 strikes

Post by mostly22lately Mon Feb 19, 2024 8:50 pm

I have a S&W 617-6.

I do not experience any failures-to-fire, and most of the time I am using CCI SV.

However, compared to any of my other rimfire pistols or rifles, the empty cases from the 617 look like they have MUCH lighter strikes.

In fact, on many of them, I'm surprised they ignited.

Similar rim detents from other firearms would likely not have fired, at least, I don't think so.  
This isn't very scientific, I know.

I have no experience with other rimfire revolvers, so, I have no idea if this situation is 'normal' or not.

Opinions solicited, including "just shoot it" and "OCD much?"

mostly22lately

Back to top Go down

Smith & Wesson 617-6 strikes Empty Re: Smith & Wesson 617-6 strikes

Post by Tripscape Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:03 pm

Is the screw in.your grip screwed in? That's the screw that tensions mainspring which pushes on the hammer. If not then give that screw few turns and it will provide more tension for good strikes. If it is all the way in then please take off your grips and take a pic. Looking for arch n the mainspring under that screw. Many second hand guns have the screw cut. Will let you know what to do if thats your case.

Tripscape

mostly22lately likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by John Dervis Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:19 pm

Every gun is a bit different.  My basic rule is that if it’s working fine, it’s fine.  I have an inline muzzle loader that when you pull the trigger and watch the hammer fall, you would swear it has a broken spring it is so weak.  BUT it fires every time.  I gave up being concerned about it. 

John

John Dervis

Back to top Go down

Post by mostly22lately Mon Feb 19, 2024 10:56 pm