Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What 22 Conversion to Buy?

+10
JayhawkNavy02
DavidR
ssds14534
Jack H
Jon Eulette
gitkrunk
markj
Rob Kovach
LenV
chiltech500
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

What 22 Conversion to Buy? Empty What 22 Conversion to Buy?

Post by chiltech500 Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:26 pm

Gents,

I am looking at my first 22 conversion purchase and do not have unlimited funds. It will be for a Springfield Loaded model.

I have been looking at the Nighthawk site and see $560 for mag and slide/barrel, I think this is a Marvel licensed unit.

I saw a post about Nelson at mid $400 and I see on ebay Advantage Arms kit, GSG, and Kimber "factory" kits, all in the high $200's.

Marvels website mentions a lock back unit at $499 but their ordering menu doesn't give you that option.

I am new to conversions so any guidance would be appreciated.

chiltech500

Back to top Go down

What 22 Conversion to Buy? Empty Re: What 22 Conversion to Buy?

Post by LenV Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:55 pm

There is a Nelson unit going off E-bay very shortly.If you want a dot mounted on the conversion you really want one of the Nelson/Marvel units.They have the barrel and rail as a non-moving part.The others everything moves and a 22 won't do the job and let you mount the dot on the slide. Just my opinion but don't think you would be happy with less.

Len
LenV
LenV

Back to top Go down

Post by Rob Kovach Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:50 pm

There are 2 types of 1911 .22 conversions:
1. the "target" style (Marvel Unit 1, Advantage Arms Target, Nighthawk Target, Nelson and others) ones where only the bottom of the slide moves, and the sights stay still.  Because the sights are bolted to the fixed barrel, you can install iron sights or a dot.