Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lightest Mount for small red dot

3 posters

Go down

Lightest Mount for small red dot Empty Lightest Mount for small red dot

Post by chiltech500 Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:51 am

I'm new to adding mounts for scopes on a 1911. I'm looking for a small and light mount system for a Burris fastfire 3. My Ber wadcutter will have the big frame mount removed. A picatinny accepting system if necessary for the new mount.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I just don't have the ability to sift through the options. Rather than reinventing a wheel I would like someones system that works and won't break the bank.

Thanks in advance.

chiltech500

Back to top Go down

Lightest Mount for small red dot Empty Re: Lightest Mount for small red dot

Post by Schaumannk Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:08 pm

chiltech500 wrote:I'm new to adding mounts for scopes on a 1911. I'm looking for a small and light mount system for a Burris fastfire 3. My Ber wadcutter will have the big frame mount removed. A picatinny accepting system if necessary for the new mount.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I just don't have the ability to sift through the options. Rather than reinventing a wheel I would like someones system that works and won't break the bank.

Thanks in advance.
Can I discourage you from choosing the fast fire?   Works fine, indoors but the dot is not particularly bright and will tend to wash out, and become invisible on a bright day.  Maybe that has changed, because I am not sure what is different about the 3.  

How about trying it for a while on your old mount, and if it works out, then find a way to attach it directly to your slide?   That will give you a nice low profile.  

Also any weight at all on your slide, as opposed to a frame mount, will probably require you to lighten up your recoil spring, and retune your loads.

Schaumannk

Back to top Go down