Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

trigger length?

+6
Jwhelan939
SW-52
Froneck
DavidR
Chris Miceli
Aprilian
10 posters

Go down

trigger length? Empty trigger length?

Post by Aprilian Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:14 pm

I am new to the 1911 platform, but during dry fire am starting to notice that I feel like I have to engage finger muscles to hold my finger on the blade of the trigger (before starting the pull).  On my .22 Buckmark there is a more relaxed feel to the trigger position and it is further from the back of the grip (it is no longer the straight TK trigger in my picture to the left).  I know nothing about the previous owner of the pistol so I have no way of knowing if he had small fingers and reduced the trigger size.

Is there a listing somewhere of the measured differences in lengths?  Is there a measurement I can take with the trigger installed to know what length mine is?

How do most people select trigger length (is it preference or only related to finger length)?

If I am using Randall Fung grips, does that make any difference to which length trigger I want?

If I buy a new trigger which brand is recommended for needing the least amount of fitting work?

Thanks
Aprilian
Aprilian

Back to top Go down

trigger length? Empty Re: trigger length?

Post by Chris Miceli Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:22 pm

It's a personal preference. The main goal is having a repeatable trigger squeeze without moving the sights. My hand is the size of a thick 13 year old girl's. I prefer a short trigger and can only reach it with the middle of the first pad. I can shoot a long trigger, but I have to rotate my hand.

Chris Miceli

Back to top Go down

Post by DavidR Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:27 pm

best thing is find guns that have the 3 sizes and see what feels best.
DavidR
DavidR
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Froneck Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:11 am