Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Olympic shooting

5 posters

Go down

Olympic shooting Empty Olympic shooting

Post by LeadSlinger 7/26/2012, 10:40 am

Ok.... I'll admit it - I am an Olympics junkie! For 2 weeks, I can't get enough, especially the really obscure sports (world competition badminton is something to see!). So, until there's a cure, I ask you to give generously for a cure.

That being said, and that I'm new to the bullseye shooting discipline, what are the differences between Olympic pistol and say a 2700 or a National Match Competition? I know it's now meters instead of yards, but is the scoring pretty much the same? Target design? Equipment requirements? Any Camp Perry people going? Any "superstars" to watch?

Looking at the schedule, there's 10M air pistol, 25M pistol, 25M rapid pistol and 50M pistol. Should be fun!

LeadSlinger

Back to top Go down

Olympic shooting Empty Re: Olympic shooting

Post by SteveT 7/26/2012, 12:26 pm

All olympic shooting events use iron sights. Pistols are only allowed open sights (post & notch); Rifle can use 'peep' sights but no optics.

10m Air Pistol: 60 shots in 1:45, 4.5mm (0.177") pellets, compressed air, CO2 or spring powered. Think 'slow fire'. Sighting shots allowed before you start shooting for score. Minimum trigger weight 500 grams. After 60 shot competition the top 10 shooters fire a 10 shot final fired as 1 shot in 45 seconds. Scoring is done in 1/10th of a scoring ring (i.e. 10.3, 9.7). Scoring is announced after each shot so you have to stand there as they go down the line and announce what each person shot; then you take the next shot. Talk about nerve-wracking!