Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

"Chicken Finger"

+3
mikemyers
mspingeld
Ray Dash
7 posters

Go down

"Chicken Finger"  Empty "Chicken Finger"

Post by Ray Dash Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:39 pm

I am new to bullseye shooting this year and have been at it for a few months now. At first I seemed to be getting better and better but lately my mental game is bad and seems to be getting worse and worse the more I shoot. In slow fire when I get the timing right and get the shot off while I am still lowering the dot into the black it usually ends up being a 10 or a 9. I know that feeling very well because the shot goes off and I feel like it went off early but it ends up being a good shot. When the shot doesn't go off right away I get the dreaded "chicken finger" and my mind starts going in circles. Most of the time I can still get an OK shot off but sometimes I end up shooting a 4 or a 0 and its killing me. Every week at league I end up shooting backwards and my highest scores are in rapid, timed and then slow fire. 

I am just curious how many bullseye shooters shoot their slow fire like it was a timed or rapid fire? I feel during rapid fire I don't have time to let my mind take over so I really don't pay attention to my trigger and the shots just seem to happen like they should.
Ray Dash
Ray Dash

Back to top Go down

"Chicken Finger"  Empty Re: "Chicken Finger"

Post by mspingeld Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:38 pm

Learn to abort slow fire shots. If it doesn't feel right, put the gun down. Take a couple of breaths and start again. Aborting shots is a skill.

mspingeld
Admin

ding-a-ling likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by mikemyers Sat Mar 16, 2019 6:45 pm

If you have the time, you might enjoy reading this:
http://blog.shooting-performance.com/mental-toughness-101-thoughts-on-improving-the-mind/