Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rest position during slow fire?

+10
Dcforman
mikemyers
LenV
john bickar
adminbot1911
dronning
james r chapman
DA/SA
Dr.Don
MC5C
14 posters

Go down

Rest position during slow fire? Empty Rest position during slow fire?

Post by MC5C 5/29/2019, 8:18 am

I am brand new to Bullseye style shooting, and with no one around who does it, teaching myself...  I was trying slow fire yesterday, and I didn't know what to do between shots.  I can't hold the pistol out for more than 30 seconds or so without losing control, so I was resting the pistol on the bench.  This bothered me because in my normal practice, the pistol is not on the bench unless it is unloaded and safed. That also caused me to change my grip, so each time I went for a shot I had a slightly different grip.  What is the recommended way to address slow fire?  Do you recover to a rest position?

Thanks, Brian

MC5C

Back to top Go down

Rest position during slow fire? Empty Re: Rest position during slow fire?

Post by Dr.Don 5/29/2019, 8:25 am

Recover to a rest position with the gun on the bench.  Most (?) of us will try to maintain the same grip throughout the 10 shot string but relax pressure while at rest.  But the 10 minutes is plenty of time to completely relax and regrip the gun once or twice if you get too tired.

The indoor range where I train requires finger off the trigger when I go to the rest position.  Many diehard Masters will frown on this as the trigger finger position is part of the grip process.  But it is required so I have learned to do it and it has become automatic now.

Last edited by Dr.Don on 5/29/2019, 8:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Dr.Don
Dr.Don

Back to top Go down

Post by DA/SA 5/29/2019, 8:26 am

I maintain my grip, with my finger off of the trigger, and just the muzzle and occasionally the bottom of the grip touching the bench depending on bench height.
DA/SA
DA/SA