Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?

+7
Wobbley
kjanracing
Willfish30
Big_Red
Jon Eulette
Arthur
Kno3cs
11 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?  Empty Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?

Post by Kno3cs Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:18 am

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the forums and I am wondering if the colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite would make a good starter .45 for bullseye. I see the SARO recommended quite frequently but I really like the stainless steel with the blue grips. I’m sure eventually I’ll send it out for a bushing, trigger and accuracy package but right now I’d like to still be able to afford shooting the thing. Would this be a decent 1st 1911 / bullseye gun considering I’m just starting out and so far just shoot a ruger mk iv and 9mm? Thanks, Casey

Kno3cs

Back to top Go down

Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?  Empty Re: Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?

Post by Arthur Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:39 am

Stainless guns can't have as tight tolerances between the slide and frame. That is why you see almost everyone with carbon steel guns. I purchased a Gold Cup and was dissatisfied with the accuracy and fitting of the parts overall. Had a new Nolan barrel , bushing , link, full length guide rod fitted. That didn't fix the sloppy frame to slide fit on my carbon steel gun. But, it is accurate now. 
Purchased a Springfield RO .45 , had a roll trigger installed. It was accurate out of the box. Should have just bought the RO first.

Arthur

Back to top Go down

Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?  Empty Re: Colt series 70 gold cup trophy lite for bullseye?

Post by Kno3cs Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:19 am