Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

misfires on 22lr

+9
troystaten
stead
Bigtrout
Allgoodhits
straybrit
TonyH
james r chapman
Kp321
L. Boscoe
13 posters

Go down

misfires on 22lr Empty misfires on 22lr

Post by L. Boscoe Thu Sep 15, 2022 9:45 pm

While developing some level of trigger competency, I am working though some CCI and Federal 22 lr, range grade ammo.
I find a failure to fire on about 1 in 20 rounds. They fire when reloaded, but this seems pretty high.  I just got back to rimfire,
so is the issue the ammo or my Ruger 22/45?  The failures have a firing pin mark on them, which leads me to think ammo.
I have been shooting 45 an 9mm for most of the year before getting back to 22, so I have no experience with this.

L. Boscoe

Back to top Go down

misfires on 22lr Empty Re: misfires on 22lr

Post by Kp321 Thu Sep 15, 2022 11:35 pm

22’s are notorious for leaving fouling in the chamber from lead, lube, and powder. Unless the chamber is carefully cleaned, eventually this fouling can prevent the round from seating fully causing a light strike. I don’t know if lubes have changed in the past few years but the chamber fouling problems seem to be worse than on the past. Also the tighter the chamber, the quicker it will give trouble.

Kp321

Back to top Go down

Post by james r chapman Fri Sep 16, 2022 6:17 am

CCI goes off 98% of the time now.
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

Slamfire and Pinetree like this post

Back to top Go down

Post by TonyH Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:00 am

CCI & Federal are sister companies and one often produces 22LR ammo for the other.
Based on your post above I would first suspect a dirty chamber as posted above in the pistol and a good brushing/cleaning may resolve the issue.