Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

1911 Dry Fire Technique

+2
mspingeld
ramiller
6 posters

Go down

1911 Dry Fire Technique Empty 1911 Dry Fire Technique

Post by ramiller Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:38 am

I am a total noob, and am trying to work on fundamentals.

When I am dry firing my 1911 - and cocking it, I find my grip changes and that I end up 'milking' the grip to try to adjust.  Over time, I feel like my grip moves considerably from where I set it at the beginning.  Any theories on the best approach to staying consistent while dry firing?  Regrip the pistol from your other hand every shot?  How do other guys do this? 

Thx

ramiller

Back to top Go down

1911 Dry Fire Technique Empty Re: 1911 Dry Fire Technique

Post by mspingeld Fri Jul 31, 2015 5:08 am

Welcome! I highly recommend reading the following series of articles by Ed Hall. They've helped me immensely with all of the fundamentals. You'll see Ed on this forum occasionally. I had the pleasure to thank him in person at Camp Perry this year. http://www.starreloaders.com/edhall/12PPC01.html

mspingeld
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by davekp Fri Jul 31, 2015 5:36 am

ramiller wrote:I am a total noob, and am trying to work on fundamentals.

When I am dry firing my 1911 - and cocking it, I find my grip changes and that I end up 'milking' the grip to try to adjust.  Over time, I feel like my grip moves considerably from where I set it at the beginning.  Any theories on the best approach to staying consistent while dry firing?  Regrip the pistol from your other hand every shot?  How do other guys do this? 

Thx

Cock it with your other hand. Or do a total regrip for each shot.

davekp

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:58 am

Remove the magazine.  After each shot cycle the slide to cock the pistol. The extra motion simutates the movement in your hand during recoil.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down