Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Total noob regarding upgrades Ruger Mark 2 ( esp grips)

5 posters

Go down

Total noob regarding upgrades Ruger Mark 2 ( esp grips) Empty Total noob regarding upgrades Ruger Mark 2 ( esp grips)

Post by bigscott Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:02 pm

Up until now did a little bullseye shooting 25 / 50 yards but currently shooting indoors 50 feet at our club weekly shoots. Did a Volq. trigger/hammer (etc) kit and recently added an Ultradot. Shooting practice on the clock I'm doing 260-280 for 30 rounds. My Hogue grips are rubber and I have a hard time with a consistent grip. Looking at Volq. laminated grips or others with some type of heel rest. At around 150 for the laminated, wondering if I'm spending a lot of money trying to squeeze a few points out of a gun that will only go so far. My Kimber 1911, on the other hand, I know will shoot better than I can. Any advice or opinion greatly appreciated.

bigscott

Back to top Go down

Total noob regarding upgrades Ruger Mark 2 ( esp grips) Empty Re: Total noob regarding upgrades Ruger Mark 2 ( esp grips)

Post by jakuda Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:21 pm

Truthfully, the Ruger can hold 2" and less out of the box. The gun can take you to High Master if you want. That being said, usually shooters prefer a lighter pistol, different grip angle, different recoil, different trigger feel, etc....

So ultimately it's up to you. All types of pistols are used for the 22 portion; no one is necessarily better than others. The current fad is using a Marvel conversion on top of a 1911 lower for the 22, but that's just the popular trend because some top shooters are doing it. I know of one High Master still shooting at HM level using his Ruger. Don't let any shooter tell you that a certain setup of equipment is the way to go.