Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol.

+3
Rotwang
DA/SA
lognom
7 posters

Go down

I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol. Empty I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol.

Post by lognom Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:52 pm

Hi,
   Newbie here. I'm only dry firing at home now because I'm on a waiting list at the local club. My biggest problem is losing the dot when I raise my pistol. Before I raise my pistol, I center the red dot in the the sight. However, when I raise the gun to its highest point I've lost the dot and then have to waste precious time twisting my wrist until I reacquire the dot before I can lower the pistol into my aiming area. Is this a grip problem? The only way I can avoid losing the dot is to first center the dot before I raise the gun, and then slowly raise my arm all while looking into the sight so as not to lose sight of the dot. However, that doesn't seem correct.
   I apologize if this topic has been discussed before. I couldn't find it using the search function.

Thanks,
Lloyd

lognom

Back to top Go down

I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol. Empty Re: I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol.

Post by DA/SA Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:25 pm

Sounds like a grip issue to me. Adjust the gun in your hand before trying to adjust your wrist position.

Is it a reflex sight or a tube type?

I have never been able to find a reflex type dot...

Micro red dot type I can almost find.

With an Ultradot tube type, the dot is centered every time as soon as I raise the gun.

It shouldn't really be that way, but that's how it is for me.
DA/SA
DA/SA

Back to top Go down

I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol. Empty Re: I lose sight of the red dot when I raise my pistol.

Post by lognom Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:29 pm