Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help putting together a new build with a marvel

+2
NuJudge
DIDON1972
6 posters

Go down

Help putting together a new build with a marvel Empty Help putting together a new build with a marvel

Post by DIDON1972 Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:18 pm

Hello, Im new to the bullseye world and in the process of putting together a dedicated 22lr pistol. I recently ordered a Marvel aluminum unit 1 w/combo rail. Im looking into purchasing a 1911 that will pair nicely with the Marvel. Theres so many 1911 manufacturers and just dont know which direction to go. Obviously I would love to have a great trigger out of the box that i dont need to send off to have work done, a good matching finish, and one that has proven reliability utilizing the marvel aluminum conversion. Not looking to spend crazy money like a wilson,nighthawk etc.. just something that should work great. Thanks for any input.

DIDON1972

Back to top Go down

Help putting together a new build with a marvel Empty Re: Help putting together a new build with a marvel

Post by NuJudge Fri Nov 25, 2022 4:26 pm

Until recently, I believe there was a strong consensus to go with a SA Range Officer and have it tightened as described in a sticky.  
https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t3913-accuracy-upgrade-to-the-range-officer-45  
I did this and am quite happy.  
You should be able to find a new or nearly so RO for sale here or on GunBroker..

You can equip the RO with a Full Length Guide Rod to speed the change of uppers with the Marvel.  

SA stopped making the RO.  The general replacement is the Garrison, which has fixed Novak rear sight.  There are several threads on an adjustable sight that is at least close to fitting the Novak footprint.  
https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t19670-springfield-armory-s-garrison-suitable-replacement-for-range-officer?highlight=Garrison