Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress)

+8
BE Mike
Virgil Kane
rvlvrlvr
DavidR
james r chapman
SMBeyer
Rob Kovach
desben
12 posters

Go down

Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress) Empty Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress)

Post by desben Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:19 am

I started shooting a little over a month ago. As a beginner, I am looking for a way to track my progress. The target scores seemed to be the obvious way. And indeed, my average target scores have been steadily increasing. However, it seems score might not be the best way to measure my abilities, and I'm looking for input as to what else I should track to measure progress. Lowest hit? Group size?

To illustrate my point, here are two targets. One is good, but scores 81. One bad and scores higher at 82. If this were a competition, the 82 would be the better target; but as a measure of one's shooting abilities, I consider the 81 target better.

Good 81
Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress) 11497955933_25ec3250fc

Bad 82
Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress) 11497871305_a7b9fdc5ea
desben
desben

Back to top Go down

Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress) Empty Re: Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress)

Post by Rob Kovach Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:42 am

I really like your 81!  Go ahead and adjust the sights when you see a group like that.  You can't be that consistent on accident!
Rob Kovach
Rob Kovach
Admin

Back to top Go down

Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress) Empty Re: Good 81, Bad 82 (how to track progress)

Post by SMBeyer Sun Dec 22, 2013 3:11 pm

Just looking at targets I'd call the 81 a better target but with questions.  Did you call the shots good or at least all of them in the same spot?  How did they feel?  Like you did things right or did it feel like things weren't good or with focus but they just happened to end up in a nice group?  What order were they shot in?