Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Loading the best possible HBWC

+7
Dcforman
straybrit
PhotoEscape
Wobbley
bruce martindale
JIMPGOV
orpheoet
11 posters

Go down

Loading the best possible HBWC Empty Loading the best possible HBWC

Post by orpheoet 4/12/2020, 10:27 am

I have 2K of the Remington HBWC that I've been sitting on for a few years. I want to do them justice as far getting the best accuracy out of them knowing there likely wont be more. My undertanding is that new brass is not ideal due to the larger diameter of the bullet. I'm happy with the accuracy I get with 2.7 WST and Zero HBWC. Is that a proven load with the Remington?
orpheoet
orpheoet

Back to top Go down

Loading the best possible HBWC Empty Re: Loading the best possible HBWC

Post by JIMPGOV 4/12/2020, 11:34 am

YES !! 2.7 WST IS ABOUT THE BEST. JP

JIMPGOV

Back to top Go down

Post by bruce martindale 4/12/2020, 12:35 pm

Only thing you could add to it is to use a cannelure tool at the midwaist like the factory does. I have the tool but lack the motivation...

Oh, and to be sure you have wadcutter brass.

bruce martindale

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t20747-feeling-center-a-10-bullsey

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley 4/12/2020, 1:24 pm

“Wadcutter brass”. I never found any even from Wadcutter ammo.   

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t13335-38-sp-brass-for-wadcutters#117438

See my post in the link.  

Just avoid “+P” brass.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by PhotoEscape 4/12/2020, 1:47 pm

Here is illustration of the difference between 38 Wadcutter and regular 38 Special cases.Loading the best possible HBWC Img_4015New Remington with dual band is no different then regular 38.  Old Remington measures the same as Fiocchi you see below.  Taper inside of the case starts about 0.200" deeper.
Loading the best possible HBWC Img_4014

Loading the best possible HBWC Img_4015