Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

old masters loads

+4
Bubba Blaster
cdrt
Al
hotshot9
8 posters

Go down

old masters loads Empty old masters loads

Post by hotshot9 4/24/2020, 10:33 am

hi. since i am relatively new to the bullseye game, as you all can imagine i am absorbing every article about this wonderful sport. i fell into it because my body would not take the positions needed anymore in the PPC and action shooting game. started shooting back in the early 60s. started with bullseye, and a jim clark long slide. to me then bullseye was about as exciting as watching paint dry on a wall! who know!. anyway now older (much) i didn't know what i was missing!. so some of the old records that still stand don't say much about the loads on the 45s,i would think it was mostly bullseye powder and cast wad cutters. any info on this? like hershel anderson? what gun? jim clarks load? others? seems like with all the new equipment everybody should be up there no? Thanks. great sight happy to be part of it!

hotshot9

https://sonoma00@verizon.net

Back to top Go down

old masters loads Empty Re: old masters loads

Post by Al 4/24/2020, 10:53 am

Welcome back to the fold.
I only started in this game about 21 years ago, for kind of the same reason. It just wasn't exciting to watch.
Equipment has changed, mostly the addition of dot sights. They don't necessarily make you a better shooter, they do allow you to see what you're doing and correct it. Also allows those of us with eye issues to continue to compete.

As I was told nearly 50 years ago when I was shooting competitive archery, "It's the Indian, not the arrow that hits the mark". Probably not PC now, but it did bring the fact to the table that you can spend your way to the poorhouse but it won't replace actual training and ability.

Al

Al

Back to top Go down

Post by hotshot9 4/24/2020, 10:59 am