Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Brazos bullets coating question

+7
Schaumannk
WesG
bpettet
james r chapman
zanemoseley
DA/SA
aub1957
11 posters

Go down

Brazos bullets coating question Empty Brazos bullets coating question

Post by aub1957 8/24/2020, 2:06 pm

I am new to loading non-jacketed projectiles, so please bear with me on this question. I have loaded for rifle for probably a decade now, all jacketed projectiles. I started loading .45 last year as I got into pistol.

I have loaded several runs of Magnus 811 projectiles, which have been just great for 25 yd. practice.

I recently ordered some Brazos .45 185 and 200 gr. SWCs.

Here is my first question: Is the gold colored coating on these the lubricant? Do I just load these up out of the bag, or do they need to be lubed?

Last question: Anyone have any load recommendations for the 185 and 200 Brazos SWCs using BE or WST powder?

Thank you for tolerating my questions.

aub1957

Back to top Go down

Brazos bullets coating question Empty Re: Brazos bullets coating question

Post by DA/SA 8/24/2020, 2:10 pm

Just load them, no lube needed.

Lots of suggestions here to get started:

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t1209-pet-loads-of-top-shooters-loads-from-the-past
DA/SA
DA/SA

Back to top Go down

Post by zanemoseley 8/24/2020, 2:45 pm

Load as-is, no additional lube required. I like WST over BE, seems slightly less snappy. Start with 3.8 WST on the 200 and 4.0 WST for the 185 and see how it runs your gun. A lot will depend on other factors like how heavy you slide is (slide mount dot, also I run 9000SC dots which are heavy), recoil spring poundage (I run 10# springs because my pistol is tight and I run a 9000SC), factory gun or hand fit, taper crimp amount (I crimp down to .463", some go up to .469").