Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How much warm up is too much before a match?

+2
DA/SA
NWSteve
6 posters

Go down

How much warm up is too much before a match? Empty How much warm up is too much before a match?

Post by NWSteve Sun Feb 19, 2023 4:20 pm

I'm pretty new to bullseye (four months but every week) I like to get in at least 50 rounds before a match. I was having issues with using CCI SV due to the pistol warming up and the heavy wax coating causing FTEs. I have recently switched to Norma Tac SV and the problem has cleared up. Is 50 rounds unusually high? We shoot 60 rounds during the match but only score the last 30. I am using an Erma ESP 85A.

Edited for brevity.

NWSteve

Back to top Go down

How much warm up is too much before a match? Empty Re: How much warm up is too much before a match?

Post by DA/SA Sun Feb 19, 2023 4:48 pm

Usually a few minutes of dry fire for me.

80 rounds is a lot of warm up!
DA/SA
DA/SA

NWSteve likes this post

Back to top Go down

How much warm up is too much before a match? Empty Re: How much warm up is too much before a match?

Post by chiz1180 Sun Feb 19, 2023 5:00 pm

Before a match my main warm up is basic arm exercises/stretches before 3min prep and dryfire during 3min prep. It has been my experience that most bullseye matches do not offer 'warm up shooting' before the match, therefore I developed my warm up/set up procedure to reflect. For matches that have prep and sighters (for me typically 10m air), I will only shoot enough shots to confirm gun is sighted, no more that 5 shots, usually 2-3 is sufficient. Therefore I do not expend effort that does not count towards my match performance. 

The matches I typically shoot are bullseye NMCs, 600s,900s and 2700s. I also shoot 10m air.
chiz1180
chiz1180

NWSteve likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by Jack H Sun Feb 19, 2023 5:52 pm