Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question

+5
brassmaster
L. Boscoe
BE Mike
chiz1180
BanjerMan
9 posters

Go down

New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question Empty New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question

Post by BanjerMan 11/28/2023, 7:35 am

I recently purchased a S&W Model 41 in hopes of getting into bullseye shooting....I've been shooting for more than 40 years mainly as a Soldier in the Army and now as a hobby/sport in retirement.  My question is about red dot sights.  I'm pretty much decided on a tube red dot and the Ultra Dot's seem like a good place to start for the money and functionality.  I am wondering if there's and advantage to the a sight like the Ultra Dot 4 with multiple MOA options or the Gen 1 with just the 4 MOA dot.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.   Doug

BanjerMan

Back to top Go down

New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question Empty Re: New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question

Post by chiz1180 11/28/2023, 7:57 am

the multiple moa dot options makes it easy to determine which dot size works for you. 2moa and 4moa are most common, I prefer 2moa.
chiz1180
chiz1180

BanjerMan and Dub like this post

Back to top Go down

New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question Empty Re: New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question

Post by BE Mike 11/28/2023, 1:41 pm

If I were just starting out today, I'd buy an UltraDot Match Dot and give each size a real testing out. I like the 30mm UltraDot with 2moa dot size.
BE Mike
BE Mike

BanjerMan likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by L. Boscoe 11/28/2023, 2:53 pm

I would not use a 4moa in BE.  Even at 87, I can see a 2moa easily
and find larger dots distracting

L. Boscoe

msmith44 and BanjerMan like this post

Back to top Go down

New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question Empty New to Bullseye Shooting Sight Question

Post by BanjerMan 11/28/2023, 3:27 pm