Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Time for Optics? When?

+12
Magload
Tim:H11
Froneck
Jack H
fpk
cdrt
Wobbley
Jon Eulette
JayhawkNavy02
rreid
jmdavis
Chris Miceli
16 posters

Go down

Time for Optics? When? Empty Time for Optics? When?

Post by Guest Sat Jun 03, 2017 7:10 pm

As a newbie I'm shooting with iron sights. When is the time to go over to optics? I read advice somewhere that you should start with irons while working on and improving your fundamentals and not get optics until your scores get to 270. Is this wise? I can see sights/target ok, though anticipating the time when I can't.

Back to top Go down

Time for Optics? When? Empty Re: Time for Optics? When?

Post by Chris Miceli Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:35 pm

The current NRA 2700 national record was set with irons, and it still stands to this day.

Chris Miceli

Back to top Go down

Post by jmdavis Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:01 pm

What is you ultimate goal?
jmdavis
jmdavis

Back to top Go down

Post by rreid Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:19 pm

I actually started with optics. I was never a Marksman, and I held a sharpshooter card for about 3 weeks until the expert card came. But if I knew then what I know now, I would have started with irons and stuck with them until I got distinguished.
rreid
rreid

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:25 pm

To be honest, I don't have an "ultimate goal" in mind right now. I just want to be the best pistol shot I can be.

jmdavis wrote:What is you ultimate goal?

Back to top Go down

Post by JayhawkNavy02 Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:18 pm